IMRI (Israel 2017): „I was dreaming about it my whole life and finally I’m here”

It’s high time for another interview. And we are so happy and we „feel alive” that we managed to talk to IMRI, Israel’s representative this year. The topics of our discussion were the song „I feel alive” and the story behind it and how it is for him to come to Eurovision Song Contest the third time in a row. 

 

Hello, Imri! First of all congratulations for representing Israel and thanks for accepting to talk to us. How do you feel about the thought that you are going to represent your country?

I feel honored and grateful for this opportunity to represent my country. It’s very exciting for me to come back to the Eurovision stage. I was dreaming about it my whole life and finally I’m here, fulfilling my dream, not a lot of people can say that.

Did you expect to win the Israeli National Final?

Well, the other competitors were very good and the competition was tight so I don’t know if I expected to win . I was trying to do my best and I kept on believing in myself.

Let’s talk about your Eurovision song: „I Feel Alive”. Can you tell us the message that stands behind it?

It’s about my personal journey to the Eurovision and how I waited for a great thing to happen. And now I feel alive when my dream come true.

IMG_1067

Photo credit: Ronen Akerman

Because we are looking forward to getting familiar with you, describe your song with your own words. Where was the video shot?

You can listen to it on YouTube already . It’s an upbeat song with pop and electronic elements . A song that makes you wanna dance . The video was shot in three different locations in Tel Aviv and it was a lot of fun making it.

In the last two years, you were one of Nadav Guedj’s , respectively Hovi Star’s backing vocals. How did you feel in Vienna/Stockholm and how was this experience for you?

I loved every minute of it. Being part in such an event is something not a lot of people get to experience. The atmosphere was hypnotizing, and with all the pressure and the excitement I tried to enjoy it as much as I could cause who knew if it’ll happen again .. lucky me, it did!

Who would you like to collaborate with and why?

Bruno Mars, I think that his music is great and he is an amazing performer . whould love to be on the same stage with him.

Which Eurovision songs do you still have in mind and why are they so special to you?

The Israeli song of Shiri Maymon „Hasheket Shenish’ar” because she is a real diva in Israel and she represented this country so amazingly. Also I still have in mind „Golden Boy” by Nadav Guedj, not because I  was a backing singer ,but because it was so different than what we always used to send.

Could you tell us which is your favourite song that Romania had brought on the Eurovision stage?

„Playing with fire” by Paula Seling and Ovi, loved it! 

Finally, do you have a message for ESC on POINT readers?

I get a lot of support from fans around Romania and I want to thank each and everyone, it means a lot ! You are more than welcome to follow my journey on my Instagram:  ImriZiv. I hope you all enjoy this year’s Eurovision Song Contest , I know I will.

Georgiana Eftodi contributed to this interview.

Lasă un răspuns

